Life...

Times like these…

My husband and I were on a walk last night as the sun was starting to hide behind the graying tree line that stood above a glistening pond. The pond was glowing with all the painted colors of the sunset: burnt orange, dark red, sunshine yellow, and bubblegum pink. The sun was still warming the earth, and our faces. We were walking, holding hands, the only two people on the path and in the park, laughing and talking, and soaking in the evening. It was utterly romantic and I think I fell in-love with my husband all over again. As we were walking, I was thinking how blessed we are, how thankful I am for this life I’ve been given. I glanced up at that pond I just described and there, silently floating in the middle of those gorgeous painted colors of sunset, were three sets of pure white trumpeter swans. They were gliding about so elegantly, quietly. My heart skipped a beat. There are times I’m hit with the beauty of this life and I have no words. Last night was one of those times.

This week I’m so thankful for, and obsessed with,

  • Cinnamon in everything: in my coffee, my oatmeal, my applesauce, my banana with almond butter, and everything else I can sneak it in. I now keep a jar of cinnamon at work, because you never know.
  • Friends who do health challenges with me and who inspire me to eat cleaner and be healthier. This week we’re doing a 7 days Paleo challenge. I. Feel. So. Good. Why don’t I always eat like this? I feel amazing. Why do I fall back into eating crap, sugar, processed foods? Why do I ever drink more wine than I should? Eating clean is one of the best feelings.
  • Candles. Enough said.
  • A husband who motivates me and inspires me to stick with my 4:30 a.m. workouts and who goes to the gym with me. He’s been teaching me how to lift heavier and do more with free weights. I’m loving it! I’d rather be pumping iron than running on the treadmill now, thanks hubby J (he also talks me out of my slumps of feeling out of shape and not hitting my goal weight. He’s so patient with me, loving, and encouraging. I have the best husband in the world)
  • The girls in my family. My mom, my two little sisters, my grandma, and my mother-in-law. I’m so blessed and so thankful to have all those amazing women in my life. They make life so good.

Happy November, friends!

Leave a Reply

